Last item for navigation
PSD Award of Excellence 2022-2023 Recipients
PSD Award of Excellence 2022-2023 Recipients
Posted on 03/16/2023
PSD Award of Excellence 2022-2023 Recipients

Puyallup School District is proud to announce this year’s Award of Excellence recipients! This new annual awards program honors and recognizes staff, volunteers and community partners for their work and commitment to excellence in supporting the success of students and schools. 

District Awards of Excellence will be presented to the award recipients in the following categories at the April 5 School Board meeting. Families and colleagues are invited to attend either in person or virtually to join in the celebration. 

John Huson with Dr. Polm
Administrator of the Year - John Huson, Waller Road Elementary Principal

Angela Arteaga with Dr. Polm
Elementary Educator of the Year - Angela Arteaga, Puyallup Parent Partnership Program Teacher

Michele Roan with Dr. John Polm
Secondary Educator of the Year - Michele Roan, Aylen Junior High Teacher on Special Assignment

Nicole Kaiser with Dr. John Polm
Educational Specialist of the Year - Nicole Kaiser, PSD Counselor on Special Assignment

Christa Braddock with Dr. John Polm
Paraeducator of the Year - Christa Braddock, PSD Paraeducator

Dr. John Polm with Jeff Hinkle
Support Staff of the Year - Jeff Hinkle, EdTec Solutions Engineer Manager

Michele Ayers with Dr. John Polm
Office Staff of the Year - Michele Ayers, Puyallup High School Office Manager

Shelley Walker with Dr. John Polm
Health, Wellness and Safety Staff of the Year - Shelley Walker, PSD Health Assistant

Gurnoor Nagra
Volunteer of the Year - Gurnoor Nagra

Amber Hayward
Community Partner of the Year – Amber Hayward

The award recipients were selected from over 150 nominations submitted by staff, students, families and community members. The selection committee, comprised of staff and student representatives, judged the nominations using a rubric that measured their achievements, collaboration and contributions to programs, activities and an inclusive culture.