Last item for navigation
10-10-11: Puyallup PTA Council presents annual awards
10-10-11: Puyallup PTA Council presents annual awards

A parent, a teacher, a school board director, and a junior high principal are the recipients of the 2010-11 Puyallup PTA Council awards that recognize staff and community members for their work in and out of the classroom.

The council surprised award recipients with the news in May during a ceremony at Kalles Junior High School.

Amy Schweim, a parent at Meeker Elementary, received this year’s Golden Acorn award for her work in the community.

Schweim was especially recognized for her work on increasing the number of nights that the local soup kitchen is open for the homeless, as well as for spearheading the Freezing Nights program, which provides emergency housing for adults in Puyallup.

“She is an advocate for the community and a role model and leader for children,” said Karin Catey, president of the Puyallup PTA Council from 2009-2011.

Gail Miller, a Title I teacher at Meeker Elementary, received the Zeiger Award. The award honors Edward Zeiger, a teacher and principal who spent 43 years working in the Puyallup School District. It is given to an employee who embodies Zeiger’s ethic of service to the educational community.

Miller, a Title I teacher for more than 30 years, was recognized for her advocacy for struggling students, Catey said.

Puyallup School Board President Cindy Poysnick received a “Friend of Puyallup PTA Council” award for her support attending council events, including Focus Day in Olympia.

“She is an advocate for kids and valued member of PTA,” Catey said.

Glacier View Junior High Principal Mark Vetter received the Outstanding Advocate award.

Vetter was recognized for the anti-bullying campaign at Glacier View Junior High. “He is a strong leader and welcomes parents, teachers, and student ideas to make school a safe and positive learning environment student learning and achievement,” Catey said.

Puyallup PTA Council makes a donation in the name of each of the award recipients to a scholarship fund to be awarded to students entering the field of education.

“These four outstanding individuals have impacted countless lives in our community,” Catey said. “Because of their generosity of talents and time, they will continue to positively affect everyone around them.”