Last item for navigation
Elizabeth Wesley award winners
Congratulations to this year's Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award winners
Posted on 11/05/2019
Congratulation to this year’s Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award winners

High schools throughout the district are celebrating the success of 59 Puyallup School District students who are this year’s Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award recipients.

The students are among 163 incentive award recipients throughout Pierce County who were recognized by the Tacoma Urban League at Clover Park Technical College on September 21. Twelve scholarships were awarded during the event, including Rogers High School senior Abigail Odhiambo and Puyallup High senior Braeden Bellmer who each received $1,000 through the Sylvia Denman Award.

Puyallup School District Superintendent Dr. Tim Yeomans received the “Drum Major For Education Lifetime Achievement Award” in recognition of his leadership, extraordinary contributions and dedication to public education, and the furtherance of African American student academic excellence.

The Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award program began during the 1995-96 school year. It recognizes and honors African-American youth in grades nine through 11 for academic excellence, community involvement, and good citizenship. The program is a community partnership between individuals, businesses, and organizations. It is named in honor of Elizabeth Wesley, a civic leader active in the founding of the Tacoma Urban League.

The league awards each of the student winners $350, and the Puyallup School District winners have their photos displayed each year at the South Hill Mall.

The Sylvia Denman award is a $1,000 college scholarship awarded to seniors who are attending Puyallup School District high schools. They must meet the criteria of academic effort, community and youth leadership. The winner of the scholarship must be a student from the E. Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Awards Program supporting and recognizing African-American student’s academic excellence.

In addition to the ceremony honoring the Pierce County award recipients, Puyallup School District winners were honored this fall at recognition events held at each of the three comprehensive high schools.

In the past ten years, Puyallup principals, assistant principals, and other district leadership raised more than $189,800 in an annual fundraiser for Elizabeth Wesley youth merit scholarships. In 2019 they raised more than $31,000 for the program.

To see this year's Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award recipients click here.