District reconizes 70 Elizabeth Wesley Award winners September (2008-2009)
Seventy Puyallup School District students have been selected to receive awards in the annual Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program.

The students make up more than a third of the 201 student scholars throughout Pierce County who will be recognized by the Tacoma Urban League in a ceremony on September 20. The awards program is from 1-3 p.m. in the Sharon McGavick Student Center at Clover Park Technical College, 4500 Steilacoom Blvd. N.W. in Lakewood.

The Puyallup School Board will also celebrate the students’ success at its next meeting on Monday, September 22. The meeting begins at 6:30 p.m. at Ballou Junior High, 9916 136th St. E., Puyallup.

The Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program was created to recognize and honor African-American youth in grades nine through 11 for academic excellence, community involvement, and good citizenship.

The awards program is named for Elizabeth Wesley, a civic leader active in the founding of the Tacoma Urban League. Each of the student winners receives $350.

This year’s honorees represent 10 different junior high and high schools in the Puyallup School District. Last year the district recognized 46 Elizabeth Wesley winners, which was more than three times the number honored in 2006.

This year’s winners, listed by the school they attended last year, will receive the Elizabeth Wesley award for their achievements during the 2007-08 school year:

Aylen Junior High School: Wesley Bledsoe and Eric Horton

Ballou Junior High School: Cullen Addison, Cierra Driscoll, Delanie Greer, Yvonne Groves, Anita Ihuwan, Johnny Jones III, Dajinai Lasenby, Michalla Lockett, and Trevor Rogers

Edgemont Junior High School: Patti Gitaka

Ferrucci Junior High School: Mackenzie Grant, Michael Lee, Shawn Murphy, and Jordaan Reyna

Kalles Junior High School: Carol Atkins, Cheryl Atkins, Elizabet Beggs, Dominique Holub, Deion Judie, and Mario Lyons

Stahl Junior High School: Audrell Coleman-Crowe, Jasmine Evans, Destiny Green, Aleshia Jones, and Unique Pimentel

Emerald Ridge High School: Abdalla Abdalla, Lauren Armstrong, Lauren Barron, Dishorn Callam, Azja Campbell-Williams, Marissa Davis, Miranda Dean, Tiarra Dearbone, Darren Frank II, Yosef Gamble, Breanna Hart, Denishea Hughes, Ter Mal, Nasia Mead, Jolessa Moore, Adriane Thomas, Roderick Watkins, and Maurice Wright 

Puyallup High School: Tevin Joseph, Erika Odem, Elizabeth Reeves, and I.V. Reeves, III

Rogers High School: Allegra Antwine, Shavonte Bouchon, Zandera Brock, Takara Calangan, Tranecia Celestine, Christina Fanfan, Sterling Graham, Jasmine Griffin-Russell, Kimberly Holmes, Dandia Johnson, Stephanie Lincoln-Baines, Ryan McIntosh, Kishia Mitchell, Garin Peyton, Devonte Phillips-Smith, Albryona Pope, Shanakia Porter, Camille Saxton, Dionisio Wilkins, and Phillip Woods 

Walker High School: Torran Partridge