Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award winners honored
High schools are celebrating the success this fall of 73 Puyallup School District students named Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award recipients.

The Puyallup students make up more than a third of the 201 student scholars throughout Pierce County recognized for the honor by the Tacoma Urban League.

Each of the merit winners received certificates during recognition events scheduled last month at Emerald Ridge, Puyallup, and Rogers high schools.

The students also received recognition and standing ovations during the annual Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program ceremony held in September at Clover Park Technical College in Lakewood.

The Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program recognizes and honors African-American youth in grades nine through 11 for academic excellence, community involvement, and good citizenship.

The awards program is named for Elizabeth Wesley, a civic leader active in the founding of the Tacoma Urban League. Click to read more about the Elizabeth Wesley Award.

The league awards each of the student winners $350, and the Puyallup School District winners have their photos displayed each year at the South Hill Mall.

The number of Puyallup scholars recognized by the program has grown from 14 in 2006 to 73 students this year — the most students honored from any of the participating school districts.

Principals, assistant principals, and other school district administrators raised more than $10,000 this year during a silent and dessert auction at an annual summer leadership conference to support the annual Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award program.

This year’s 73 Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award recipients are:

Emerald Ridge High School
Christopher Bowling
Jada Calhoun
Ashley Cook Eckart
Ashley Cooper
Brielle Davidson
Madison Davis
Tatiana Drain
Shaban Gakere
Chloe Ghent
Jeremy Harris
Marcus Harris
Jaelyn Harrison
Alyssa Heslip
John Huyghue
Justin Jones
Nesbert Kambarami, Jr.
Kelvin Littrell
Antonisha Love
Tah-tiana Lux
Kendall McClain
Carly Moore
Adenike Omomukuyo
Antonio Perry
Alana Pries
Alexandria Proby
David Proby
Shalaina Rollins
Olivia June Scott
Matthew Wells
Sierra White
Shaidaja Wilson

Puyallup High School
Jordan Avary
Mowuleh Ballah
Andre Earls
Gabrielle Gill
George Houghton-Bynum
Savannah Jarrett
Anthony Johnson
Kiera Johnson
Aimriel Lewis
Danielle Locken
Kenzie McNeel
Ashley Owens
Breanna Schultz
Kayla Wade
Jordan Walker
Marcus Wilson

Rogers High School
Ashlyn Allen
Aleah Appling
Michael Askew
Rachel Collins
Hannah Davis
Johnnie Fuller
Tatjana Hardy
Austin Harvey
Alani Hunt
Jaleesa Jones
Tiffany Kayongo
Francois King
James Knox
Kizhane Massey
Loren Miles
Victoria Miles
Davian Oden
Brittany Rose
Derriah Russell
Dewayne Scott
Javonie Turner
Corney Urps, Jr.

Walker High School
Falyn Ashley

Desman Brown
Sara Orlean
DeCarlo Ward