Last item for navigation
11-25-13: Elizabeth Wesley winners recognized for achievement
11-25-13: Elizabeth Wesley winners recognized for achievement
Posted on 11/25/2013

High schools are celebrating the success this fall of 67 Puyallup School District students named Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award recipients.

“These student scholars exemplify hard work, dedication, and a commitment to their community,” said Chief Equity and Achievement Officer Gerald Denman.


The Puyallup students make up a third of the 201 student scholars throughout Pierce County recognized for the honor by the Tacoma Urban League.

Each of the merit winners will receive certificates of recognition during breakfast or lunch award ceremonies scheduled this month at Emerald Ridge, Puyallup, and Rogers high schools.Image

The students also received recognition and standing ovations during the annual Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program ceremony held in September at Clover Park Technical College in Lakewood.

The Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program recognizes and honors African-American youth in grades nine through 11 for academic excellence, community involvement, and good citizenship.

The awards program is named for Elizabeth Wesley, a civic leader active in the founding of the Tacoma Urban League.

The league awards each of the student winners $350, and the Puyallup School District winners have their photos displayed each year at the South Hill Mall.

The number of Puyallup scholars recognized by the program has grown from 14 in 2006 to 67 students this year.

Principals, assistant principals, and other school district administrators support the program each year during a silent and dessert auction at an annual summer leadership conference. This year, leadership raised more than $13,500 to support the annual Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award program.

This year’s 67 Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award recipients are:

Emerald Ridge High School
Jeannine Brown

Dylan Burnley

Jada Calhoun

Audasia Davis

Madison Davis

Elijah DeJackson

Tatiana Drain

Shaban Gakere

Chloe Ghent

Alyssa Heslip

Taylor Jack

Leshawn Jones

Tiani Jones

Tyahna Legette

Porcha Muhammad

Adenike Omomukuyo

Evanni Roberson

Aaliyah Robinson

Shalaina Rollins

Gavin Sims

Jordan Taylor

Stephanie Warner

Matthew Wells

Shaidaja Wilson


Puyallup High School
Alexander Cornyn

Andre Earls

Gabrielle Gill

Savannah Jarrett

Anthony Johnson

Hannah Laurenzano

Danielle Locken

Kenzie McNeel

Hannah Musick

Ashley Owens

Breanna Schultz

Sarina Sharpe

Dominique Walker

Kendra Windham

Rogers High School
Aaron Allen

Aleah Appling

Aneyceia Brim

Jasmine Catchings

Nathan Conley

Kiss’Swanna Curtis

Hannah Davis

Stephanie Davis

Risako Dey

Johnnie Fuller

Hannah Gordon

Austin Harvey

Noah Howell

Brooke Jackson

Gabriella Jackson

Jaleesa Jones

Justin Jones

Tammy Kayongo

Tiffany Kayongo

Kizhane Massey

Daija Mayfield

Maya McCloud

Shaiyenne Monroe

Davian Oden

Sharice Sanders

Javonie Turner

Corney Urps, Jr.


Nashesha Rowberg

Haley Smith