Last item for navigation
Congrats 2022 E. Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Recipients
Congrats 2022 E. Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Recipients
Posted on 10/06/2022
2022 PSD E. Wesley Recipients

High schools throughout the District are celebrating the success of 49 Puyallup School District students who are this year’s Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award recipients. The students are among 116 Pierce County incentive award recipients who were recognized by the Tacoma Urban League

This is the 27th year for the annual awards.  The Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award program began during the 1995-96 school year. It recognizes and honors African-American youth in grades nine through 11 for academic excellence, community involvement, and good citizenship. The program is a community partnership between individuals, businesses, and organizations. It is named in honor of Elizabeth Wesley, a civic leader active in the founding of the Tacoma Urban League. The league awards each of the student winners with $350. In addition, photos of award recipients will be on display at the South Hill Mall.

Students were recognized at the Award Ceremony on September 17th at Clover Park Technical College in Lakewood, Washington. In the past twelve years, Puyallup principals, assistant principals, and other district leadership have raised more than $200,000 for youth merit awards. This year, more than $10,000 was raised for the program.

Learn more about the program here.

A collage of all 2022 PSD E. Wesley Recipients
Click the photo to view an enlarged version. 

Top Row L-R (Emerald Ridge High): Linus Kinyanjui, Kala Cargile, Zania Chisholm-Johnson, James Coffman, Jaaziq Livingston, Maravilha Ntanda, Sarah Rushing

Second Row L-R (Emerald Ridge High): Adriana Sanders, Benjamin Sauer, Kennedy Boyd, Leela Cargile, Reiko Cargile, Sienna Rogers, Amani Hayward (Puyallup High)

Third Row L-R (Puyallup High):
 Ifechi Okoye, MiAinjel Calhoun, Sigourney McWilson, Patience Brown, Marcus Abram, Chinasa Anthony

Fourth Row L-R (Puyallup High): Kamsi Anthony,Talia Trammell, Maxwell Wanyoike, Alexander Woodson, Elyse McWilson, Sydney Bonds (Rogers High)

Fifth Row L-R (Rogers High): Ayomide Shoewu, Madeline Baidoo-Essien, Neyandra Catta, Christian Clemons, Anayas Davis, Shatreah Fairley-Scott, Mikayla Gardley

Sixth Row L-R (Rogers High): Nia Odhiambo, Javed Sanders, Raven Sanders, Divinity Singleton, Ava Thomas, Ariana Williams

Bottom Row L-R: Rogers High - Abigail Appling, Mia Chandler, Esence Reed, Puyallup Digital LearningCharlese Lyles, Nilah Cain, Lindell Curtis