Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit winners (2005-2006)

Fourteen Puyallup School District students were recently recognized through the Tenth Annual Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program.


Established in 1996, the Tacoma Urban League's Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program was created to recognize and honor African American

youth achievement. The awards, based on academic excellence, community involvement, and good citizenship, include a $350 award for each student. Students

are eligible for the awards beginning in ninth grade and may continue to apply for annual recognition through eleventh grade.


To be considered, students must submit an essay about being a role model, have a 2.50 grade point average or better, demonstrate at least 90 percent class attendance, show evidence of good citizenship, submit three letters of recommendation, and demonstrate academic ability in math, science, and English.


The following students (listed by the schools they attend this year) were recognized for their achievements in the 2004-05 school year:


Emerald Ridge High School: Yousif Elwasila, Ishae Gainous, Hassan Mead, Samantha Moss, Leslie Raymond, Unique Taylor, and Keely Wilson


Puyallup High School: Desean Garnett and Sienna Lyons

Rogers High School: Arin Carpenter, Renee Garino, Le 'Fondria Scroggins, Grant Williams, and Jessica Zuniga


The awards program is named for Elizabeth Wesley, a civic leader