Facebook Thumnail white     

Board Highlights

A report from the
Puyallup School Board meeting  

September 1, 2015

Board recognizes facility and technology interns and volunteers

The board recognized summer interns in the district's Facilities department and the Information Technology Center who assisted in preparing for a successful start to the 2015-16 school year.

Chief Operations Officer Rudy Fyles introduced and shared examples of work done by interns in the Facilities department. The board thanked Capital Projects student interns Arianna Todd, Hannah Gamache, Brandon Morrow, Madeline Hornbuckle, and Michael Isaksen. Intern Andrew Lewis was unable to attend the meeting.

Executive Director of Technology Services Randy Averill introduced the following students and adults who assisted in the Information Technology Center over summer: Jose Cosme, Verlene Wyant, Josh Neuman, Austin Vetter, John Worswick, Kirsten Randall, and Kate Crewse. Jennifer Mathis, Eduard Klimenko, Kendal Teele, Misty Presser, and Kiyiana Lyles were unable to attend the meeting.

Photo (from top to bottom): Chief Operations Officer Rudy Fyles joins Capital Projects student interns (from left) Arianna Todd, Hannah Gamache, Brandon Morrow, Madeline Hornbuckle, and Michael Isaksen. Executive Director of Technology Services Randy Averill (far left) and (standing next to Averill) Director of Instructional Leadership-Technology and School Support Mark Vetter, join interns and volunteers (from left): John Worswick, Verlene Wyant, Austin Vetter, Kate Crewse, Josh Neuman, Kirsten Randall, and Jose Cosme. 

Other school board business


In other business, the board:

  • Held a second reading and approved school board policies titled Homeless Students: Enrollment Rights and Services; Enrollment; Prohibition of Harassment, Intimidation, and Bullying; Nondiscrimination; Child Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation Prevention; Other Leaves; and Staff Development and Professional Growth. 

  • Heard an enrollment update from Casey Cox, assistant superintendent of instructional and organizational alignment. Cox reported that enrollment is higher as of September 1 than conservative projections. For more information about how enrollment surged in advance of the first day of school, read a news article posted on the district website.

  • Approved a 2015-16 Highly Capable Students Program Grant Proposal.

Human Resources Report


Certificated Staff Recommendations

Lynda Belt, Teacher

Nathan Debolt, Teacher

Jacqueline Dobson, Nurse

Mark Gonsalves, Teacher

Carmen Karr, Teacher

Ana Kear, Teacher

Lyndsey Steiner, Teacher

Lindsay Weigand, Teacher

Lisa Westover, Teacher


Certificated Staff Position Changes

Kimberly Butzner, Teacher; formerly Certificated Substitute

Lisa Loveland, Teacher; formerly Certificated Substitute

Ashley Vincent, Teacher; formerly Certificated Substitute


Certificated Staff Resignations

Anne Daulton, Teacher

Jonna Smith, Teacher


Classified Staff Recommendations

Jay Bates, Assistant Cross Country Coach

Baron Coleman, Assistant Football Coach

Robert Frey, Assistant Girls Golf Coach

Stephanie McDonald, District Diving Coach

Kurt McKee, Assistant Football Coach

Daniel Spicer, Assistant Football Coach

Lucas Swanson, Assistant Boys Water Polo Coach


Classified Staff Position Changes

Maria Amburgey, Paraeducator; formerly Paraeducator Substitute

Patricia Capocy, Administrative Assistant to the Executive Director of College and Career Readiness; formerly JH Office Manager

John Faaumu, Paraeducator; formerly Hourly-Classified

Jose Loera, Painter; formerly Lawn Crew

Trudy Rounds, HS Administrators Secretary; formerly HS Attendance/Office Support

Story Stacy, Paraeducator; formerly Paraeducator Substitute

Carol Walker, JH Office Manager; formerly Elementary Office Manager

Deborah-Dee Wilson, Paraeducator; formerly Displaced


Classified Staff Resignations

Bliss Aron, Lifeguard

Donna Maria Barkley, Paraeducator

Gail Becker, Food Service Substitute

Lauren Causby, Lifeguard/Swim Instructor

Steven Fryer III, Bus Driver Substitute

Betsy Koho, Paraeducator

Amanda Massey, Paraeducator

Robert Mayer, JH Football Coach

Pamela Mortensen, Paraeducator

Kevin ONeill, Bus Driver

Spencer Sawyer, Lifeguard

Heidi Stone, Lead Server

Samuel Tipton, Lifeguard

Amy Todd, Aerobics Instructor/Lifeguard/Pool Supervisor

Heather Wheeler, Elementary School Secretary

Puyallup School District, Communications Dept, 302 2nd St SE, PO Box 370, Puyallup, WA 98371
Sent by communications@puyallup.k12.wa.us in collaboration with
Constant Contact